.

Should Octomom Do Porno? Mom Talk

Nadya Suleman filed bankruptcy and is considering new lows to feed her 14 kids.

Is anyone really surprised that Octomom Nadya Suleman has filed bankruptcy?

When the octuplets were born, she vowed to finish her education, which would pay for all her family's needs. That didn't happen — no surprise there.

Now, Suleman reportedly claims that she is desperate enough to consider pornography in order to pay her bills.

Ordinarily I would say that nothing could be that bad — there must be another way. However with Suleman, I wonder what took her so long.

I have no sympathy for her. She didn't accidentally get knocked up. She knowingly, willingly, actively went in and had this done to her. She already had six kids through in vitro fertilization. She was mooching off her parents when she deliberately added an eight-pack to the equation.

If I had six kids, I would want to give some back. I'm exhausted with just the two I've got! The last thing I would do is go in and have eight embryos implanted in me.

Babies are from heaven. Just because we, as women, have the right to procreate, it does not mean that we should. Suleman is the extreme case that ruins it for the rest of us. She makes us ask the question if there should be limits on our rights to have children. Suleman's indadequacies and selfishness have certainly put limits on her children!

Her actions were entirely selfish. She has no help. No partner. No employment. The children are the ones who are suffering.

Should she do porno to make some cash to feed her 14 kids? She spread her legs several times already to get what she wanted, everyone else be damned. Yes, she might as well keep doing it.

Samantha May 02, 2012 at 03:46 PM
What does this have to do with our local community anyway?
Tim May 02, 2012 at 04:04 PM
And with this, Erin's credibility is forever gone. Nobody is going to(or should) take her seriously.
MomofmanyinPlainfield May 02, 2012 at 04:28 PM
Not only am I disgusted that this space on the plainfield patch has been wasted with this trash, but that the author, Erin Gallagher, is such a hypocrit! Shame on you Erin and on the editors here at the patch!
Lucy May 02, 2012 at 04:54 PM
I guess I don't understand how this article is considered gossip. It's classified as an opinion and it's an opinion based on an actual story in the news right now. Suleman has signed a deal to do a film starring herself. So, I too agree with Erin that it is pathetic that this woman has to sink to this level to support 14 children that didn't come along unexpectedly, she purposefully impregnanted herself without the means to care for these children. I too have no sympathy for Suleman for selfishly bringing innocent children into this world that she didn't have the financial means to care for and now has to sell herself to support them.
Dad Of Two May 02, 2012 at 05:23 PM
Maybe there is an inside joke that I'm not getting, because all of you are attacking an author, and I think she's right. This Octomom knowingly did IVF when she didn't even have a job or a husband. What did she think would happen? Where is the father in all this? Oh, there isn't one. My wife and I took forever to conceive and this girl is like a slap in the face to the good 2 parent homes that put the kids first (not a $5oo haircut!) And thanks, Erin, for speaking up.
Tim May 02, 2012 at 05:57 PM
not even a week ago, this same author wrote an 'opinion' piece about how bad gossip is. http://plainfield.patch.com/articles/gossip-hurts-at-any-age-mom-talk I think Erin just made the comparisons to the catholic church, that were made in the comments of that article, dead on accurate.
John Moreli May 02, 2012 at 06:46 PM
Another piece of crap of an article by the patch! The patch should print more articles about the sins of abortion instead! At least the octomom didn't abort her precious children!!!!!
Tommy O May 02, 2012 at 07:10 PM
Calling a fellow commenter a "SOB" is clearly ridiculous and a violation of Patch Terms of Use. Patch should enforce their own rules.
Tim May 02, 2012 at 07:16 PM
Look around. Nobody supports this nonsense, and everyone is rightly recognizing the hypocrisy of the editor. On a comment board where people rarely if ever agree, it is astonishing how completely and totally condemned this article has become in less than a day. Welcome to the internet Erin, this isn't your old newspaper job.
Emerson May 02, 2012 at 08:37 PM
An article that attracts interest and a myriad of comments is a successful article, no matter the content. The aim of an online forum is to attract attention and therefore more "hits". The more Hits the more advertiser revenue. Erin is doing her job and I've enjoyed reading all the spirited comments.
Kate A. May 02, 2012 at 09:11 PM
Huh, I guess nobody here knows what an opinionated article is. Tim, after what you commented on that gossip article last week, I say that comment should be flagged. You obviously have no respect for anyone's opinion, so why say anything? This is not gossip. It is stating facts which everyone knows in an article. Everyone calls Ms. Gallagher a hypocrite, its just an opinion. Really.
Kate A. May 02, 2012 at 09:15 PM
I agree with you, Lucy 100%. This is completely not gossip its an opinion, and it is also on the news all over!! Why should you criticize and call somebody a hypocrite when the article, and all the info in it, is on the news all over.
Kate A. May 02, 2012 at 09:18 PM
have you watched the news lately? almost everything is gossip! yet you decide to trash a person who is writing an article that is all over the news? Tim, im sorry, but i do take Erin seriously, she is a very good journalist and you are just unable to see that, also, the comment you wrote on her gossip hurts article was unnecessary and very offending
Tim May 02, 2012 at 11:07 PM
She is certainly off to a good start of writing that book she always wanted: "How to flush your credibility and career down the toilet in 2 easy steps."
Sam May 02, 2012 at 11:58 PM
Where ever you get your news you'll always find the entertainment section... Or the area where you'll find some more lighthearted stories. Obviously Erin wasn't hired to chase down the big stories of the day. She writes about the light hearted things, which some people enjoy reading. I'm a People/Us reader, so i enjoy stories like this. This is not cnn.com... If I want NEWS and just news I go to cnn, Chicago tribune, or the herald news.. Everyone needs to just calm down and take this site for what it is... And if you've been on here long enough you all know if it's not Tim's opinion, it's wrong..
Jeff May 03, 2012 at 12:27 AM
Opinion is simply that, an opinion of the author. I see no gossip here, Ms.Suleman herself is the one who reported that she is considering pornography to make money. The author, Ms. Gallagher, has simply drafted a piece stating her OPINION of this matter. Get over it people!
Deanna Jones May 03, 2012 at 06:29 AM
Fantastic opinion piece! I'm in complete agreement with your observation that she has put herself in this predicament through her own irresponsible actions and that this is just another means to an end for her. The sad part is that the only thing she appears to care about is her own 15 minutes of infamy.
mray May 03, 2012 at 11:24 AM
Seriously, who has time to even give a crap about this? I have enough of my own issues day to day to worry about rather than if some publicity ho decides to do porn or not.
Joliza 555 May 03, 2012 at 02:39 PM
Oh puleeze! If the woman had two brain cells to rub together, would she be in this fix? She obviously does whatever pops into her head without thinking. This won't be any different...
Joliza 555 May 03, 2012 at 02:43 PM
I serioulsy think her children should be taken away from her. She is obviously not a responsible person. They should be put up for adoption and lord willing people who will love them and can pay attention to them will adopt them and give them a nice normal life as opposed to the way they are being raised now...in a circus by an irresponsible person who doesn't think past her nose...
Infamous Steve May 03, 2012 at 03:45 PM
personally I think she is ugly as hell and I would never watch a porn with her in it. I see her and her kids as freaks of nature. The kids are pretty much test tube babies and this moron gets $2,000 a month in food stamps. For reasons like this and thousands of others I can't wait for the human race to end. And yes all of you that thought this was a gossip article are morons too.
MidwestGal May 03, 2012 at 07:07 PM
So Steve, IVF children are freaks of nature? That's a brass and bold comment coming from someone who sits around watching porn, probably colllecting food stamps himself ...if all the human race was like you we would've ended by now. Test tube/IVF babies are loved and much wanted, perhaps if you were loved and wanted you wouldn't be so angry in life.
John Moreli May 03, 2012 at 09:54 PM
Invitro is immoral! Millions and millions of unwanted embryos are thrown away in the trash every year! And with invitro, its selective choosing which baby lives or dies when a women becomes pregnant with too many implanted embryos!
Tim May 04, 2012 at 06:55 AM
Patch only enforces the rules when it is a benefit to Patch. One of the many ethically questionable things it is known for.
Infamous Steve May 05, 2012 at 04:18 PM
Yes they are freaks of nature. Yes I do watch porn every now and then. No I don't get food stamps I work. And if the human race ended by now the planet would be a wonderful place. The human race is a cancer on this planet. We rape and pillage every possible part to make a profit. That is why I can't wait for any mass extinction event.
Tim May 05, 2012 at 08:00 PM
Poor Steve. Still doesn't understand how biology works.
Bridgette May 09, 2012 at 06:38 PM
I have to agree, this piece goes beyond a good debate, "She spread her legs several times already to get what she wanted, everyone else be damned. Yes, she might as well keep doing it." I'm sorry, that is trash talk, and when you jump in the gutter, you lose your credibility.
Bridgette May 09, 2012 at 06:42 PM
I agree with you. Her children are here, and despite Nadya mistakes (which she admits), in the here and now the woman and more important her kids need help. I would have rathered she had done a reality show though, than to get into porn. I can't imagine when her kids grow up they would want to have had the mom that was not only the 'octomom' but a porn star.
Mickey May 16, 2012 at 02:56 PM
How will you enjoy it Steve since you won't be here?
Infamous Steve May 17, 2012 at 01:15 PM
I will enjoy it simply knowing it is coming to a end. Don't need to be here when it happens just to know it is happeneing.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something